poetry

SUPERSTITION

Sharpest Perception a Road Less Traveled

 I grew up hearing Grammy saying, not to sing early in the morning, because you’ll be crying, by the end of the day. 

As weird as it sounded, I’d shut up quickly, willing that ordeal at bay. 

She was pretty accurate, in calling out the superstition’s that took captive, our situations while plaguing us into its game of tag.

Going back around a sign, took the littlest time, instead of superstition, surprising you with hide and seek into its creepy replay of delayed wickedness, counting down in your mind.

She once also told me in passing,

never get married on a rainy day, 

or you’ll spend majority of the marriage in tears. 

Well that came up due to my rainy Prom night, as she tried to assure me it wasn’t the end of the world. Although, count it, 7 years later, I had to be the most unluckiest girl.

View original post 383 more words

