poetry

Top Shelf

​

Alone I sit by waiting, 

dusty at his personal bar’s disposal. 

Frustated, by once being the world to him,

having his back and both shoulders. 

A true knock out, 

the creme dela creme, of well rounded excellence, 

until his hidden jealousies disruptively showed up, 

spilling contempt, 

from his half empty, cup.

His thought’s were, 

I’d be consumed by a more reserved someone else, 

due to my 100 proof uniqueness and personality’s wealth.

Noticing too late, I’d been infinitely placed, on the top shelf. 

As I Resonated, stewing in my own juices, 

getting more refined but without my grandest uses. 

More expensive, exquisite options began crossing my mind, 

inquiries regarding the top shelf’s content, 

came and went all the time.

They wondered quizzically about the dusty label covered, 

as I waited mundanely for someone to discover.

I recall in past asking to be placed on a pedestal and lavishly treated as a Queen, 

as he playfully? stated, 

” If I place you there, then how am I supposed to reach you, 

if you’re higher than me”? 

Now I laugh inwardly, off a lesson of the past, well taught.

As I reflect on instances that led up to being sought. 

Feeling like a butterfly in a net, 

a bird in a cage, 

maybe I can move myself  from all this pinned up rage.

Not even an inch, 

would he move me closer to the front, 

like a high school trophy, 

taken off the shelf, 

after years to die inside a trunk. 

Pop my cork! Let me breathe, allow my ambrosia to fill a nostril’s whiff, to proceed.

Kept perfectly hidden, unspoken, out of reach, 

disguised by thick dust, 

so no one notices me.

I have needs to socially interact..oh! wait…Poured, sipped, and enjoyed right behind his back.

Feeling much better, 

now that my seal’s been cracked.

Just a matter of time now, 

I’ll be sipped again, until I’m empty, and gone from the top shelf’s rack.

Poetry By Tamara Dorsey-Moore

Thinker on the Loose~ F.Y.I did you know the liquor pictured is worth $54,999 and is part of a collection called  1960 Yamasaki- Dekanta  also called “cancer cancer” because it cures cancer in children. Amazing!

THANKS FOR READING & VISITING ❤ 🙂 You are appreciated.

13 thoughts on “Top Shelf

Leave a Reply

